Prince And The Purple Rain Era Studio Sessions 1983 And 1984 Expanded Edition

Author Duane Tudahl’s updated and expanded edition of his 2017 book Prince And The Purple Rain Era Studio Sessions 1983 And 1984 was released today. An authoritative, exhaustively researched volume about what is arguably one of Prince’s most prolific periods of recording, this new paperback edition adds new interviews with Bobby Z, Wally Safford, Taja Sevelle, “Cubby” Colby, and others. In addition, some of the recording session dates have been updated or confirmed, and there are new sections about previously unknown songs that have never before been discussed. 

You can purchase this new Expanded Edition paperback here: 

For my review of the original hardcover edition, please visit the link below.


Springsteen on Broadway Soundtrack arrives December 14


Columbia Records will release Springsteen on Broadway, the official soundtrack from his 236-show run at Broadway’s Walter Kerr Theatre, December 14. It will be released as a 2-CD set, a 4-LP vinyl record set, and also available to purchase via digital download. In addition, it will be available via digital streaming services. The album will include all of the audio from the upcoming Springsteen on Broadway Netflix special, which will debut at 12:01 am Eastern Time December 16, just hours after Bruce performs the last show of his historic Broadway run.

The CD track list:

Disc 1
1. Growin’ Up (Introduction)
2. Growin’ Up
3. My Hometown (Introduction)
4. My Hometown
5. My Father’s House (Introduction)
6. My Father’s House
7. The Wish (Introduction)
8. The Wish
9. Thunder Road (Introduction)
10. Thunder Road
11. The Promised Land (Introduction)
12. The Promised Land

Disc 2
1. Born in the U.S.A. (Introduction)
2. Born in the U.S.A.
3. Tenth Avenue Freeze-out (Introduction)
4. Tenth Avenue Freeze-out
5. Tougher Than the Rest (Introduction)
6. Tougher Than the Rest
7. Brilliant Disguise (Introduction)
8. Brilliant Disguise
9. Long Time Comin’ (Introduction)
10. Long Time Comin’
11. The Ghost of Tom Joad (Introduction)
12. The Ghost of Tom Joad
13. The Rising
14. Dancing in the Dark (Introduction)
15. Dancing in the Dark
16. Land of Hope and Dreams
17. Born to Run (Introduction)
18. Born to Run


Above: The 2-CD Set. Below: The 4-LP set.